Top Ten Tuesday (6): Top Ten Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  This week we are talking about our Top Ten Popular Authors We’ve Never Read.

Top 10 Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

Ok, this is tough because I feel like I have at least read one book from many authors that come to mind.  That being said, there is always more to read, so here are the authors that stand out.

Young Adult Authors

1. Cassandra Clare – I know, I know. Everyone has read and seems to have enjoyed her Mortal Instruments series, but I read like 50 pages and could NOT get into it. I keep meaning to give it another try, but haven’t been able to bring myself to yet!

2.  Sarah J. Maas – I KNOW! I haven’t read Throne of Glass yet and I really really mean to.  I even had it out from the library at one point, but the back made it sound like it was a love triangle-y book and I just wasn’t in the mood at the time. That said, I’ve since heard that’s not really the case and really want to try again soon.

3. Tahereh Mafi – Confession time. I even own the entire Shatter Me trilogy. Signed. So what is my problem! The prose in these books is divisive from what I have heard, but if you love it you REALLY love it.  Because of that, I want to give these books a fair shot.  And come on, I OWN THEM ALL!

4.  Ransom Riggs – I also own both of the Miss Peregrine’s books, also signed.  I am a huge fan of Ransom Riggs the person, and I hear this set of books just keeps getting better.  I am annoyed by this one and will be trying these books out ASAP.

5.  Paullina Simons – I keep hearing such excellent things about The Bronze Horseman trilogy, and that sucker has been on my TBR for-freaking-ever.

Classics and Classic Adult Fantasy Authors

6. Charlotte Bronte – I keep meaning to read Jane Eyre. Everyone seems to really love and enjoy it, but I am not the biggest fan of that era of British literature and I keep avoiding it.  I need to make this happen at some point, though.

7.  Terry Pratchett – I’m not sure how I call myself a fantasy fan without ever having even TRIED Discworld, but there it is.  Hopefully soon – this one is on my definite to read in 2014 list.

8.  David Eddings – Similar to my feelings about Discworld, I feel like I truly must give The Belgariad series a try.  I think I own them all in two different forms – both standalones and a bind-up. I hear this is a really defining series in fantasy and I just need to get going!

9.  Ilona Andrews – I am a really big fan of urban fantasy — particularly Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files and Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson series.  With this being the case, I KNOW I need to get some Kate Daniels in my life ASAP, but I just haven’t gotten around to it!

10. Mercedes Lackey – With this author, I admit I just don’t know where to start. There are so freaking many books in the Valdemar world and there seems to be debate as to which order to read them in.  But a well-known, female fantasy author who I haven’t read… I’m embarrassed.

So that’s my list! Which ones of these do I need to shoot to the top of my TBR? And which authors do YOU wish you had made time for already?  I can’t wait to hear!

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (6): Top Ten Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

  1. Okay, here we go. I read the first 4 Mortal Instrument books. I liked them, but they just keep coming out. I haven’t read the newer ones. And oh my gosh, the Throne of Glass series is one of my new favorites. I love it so much. Same with Mafi.

    I haven’t read any of Ransom Riggs’ books either. The cover on Miss Peregine creeps me out a bit.

    • It’s hilarious to me that we started our comments on each other’s posts basically exactly the same way. 🙂

      Throne of Glass I think might be highest on my “to get to next” from this list. The fact that it’s a series and not a trilogy somewhat deters me from rushing in though!

      And oh the Mafi shame.

  2. I haven’t read any of those writers either. Not only do I not usually voluntarily seek out current writers (or actors or musicians), but I usually have the exact opposite reaction of the crowd re: very popular, massively hyped books. Jane Eyre was a DNF for me when I was thirteen, though I pulled an 82 on the test by choosing the essay portion for my major credit. I’ve never been interested in revisiting it as an adult.

    • I have gotten back to a bunch of books that I didn’t think were so great back in high school and find that they are much better than I realized at the time. 🙂 What kinds of things do you like to read?

  3. I read tthe first MI and didn’t really enjoy. Like you, I’ve been meaning to pick up the second to give the series another chance. The Shatter Me series made my list too. Have to give that author a try too. And I’ve been curious about the Bronze Horseman series for a while. All I hear is that it is heartjearking, but excellent. Great list!

  4. Terry Pratchett! GIRL! How have you not read him yet!? Love the Discworld series – perfect blend of humor and fantasy.

    And I haven’t read Ilona Andrews, despite that I keep wanting to. OR Sarah J. Maas. So I’m with you on those.

    • Ugh, I knooooow! It seems overwhelming on where to start I think. So many people say the first book isn’t that good but then there are all these internal trilogies and series and spin-offs. I just need to read the first one and get it over with and go from there. 🙂

      Have you read the Mercy Thompson series? SO GOOD! If you like the Steampunk vibe, I just read Kiss of Steel and it was also v enjoyable (though VERY adult).

  5. Excellent list! In a way it’s making me sad because I haven’t read any of them either! I think this week’s TTT is really making it painfully obvious that even though I would consider myself a bookworm, I haven’t even scratched the surface of all the wonderful books out there! That’s what I love about reading, there’s always something new to try.

    I keep hearing wonderful things about Tahereh Mafi as well. Wouldn’t it be nice to take a book vacation and read all day every day? Maybe someday 🙂

  6. Great list! I’ve only read Ransom Riggs and Charlotte Bronte from your list. This may make me very unpopular but I hate Jane Eyre. I love Wuthering Heights and had high hopes for it but it did not live up to them. I couldn’t connect with the characters and I found it a little predictable and wordy. But don’t let my negativity prevent you from reading it, most people love it.

  7. Jane Eyre is my absolute favorite book ever. I may even have read it TOO many times.

    Unfortunately, the other authors on this list that I have read are ones I would never read a second book from… Cassie Clare, Taherah Mafi, Ransom Riggs. But I know a lot of people would disagree, obviously, otherwise they wouldn’t be so popular!

    • I think part of what gets me on some of these authors (esp the ones you mentioned) is that there ARE so many mixed reviews. I know that means I need to make up my own mind on them, but it’s hard to crack a book like that sometimes. 🙂

  8. I have the two Throne of Glass books and need to read them so Maas will be on my list too! I just read Shatter Me and only gave it 2 stars–I was surprised based on the reviews I had seen about the series, but I suppose there are some books that just don’t do it for certain readers. I also have Simon on my list–I have been planning to pick up The Bronze Horseman–so that’s funny that you have it on your list! 🙂

  9. Great list! Maas is amazing! I hope you get to her books soon!
    Clare got a black dot from me with her plagiarism scandals and her Bane chronicles are a snooze. Plus she’s planning 2 more series and she just needs to cool the F down.
    Mafi was a bit of a let down but I will read on.
    The rest are on my TBR as well 😀
    Happy reading!

  10. I can’t stand Jane Eyre, because the actions that are excused for ‘love’ are all terrible. Terrible!

    That’s quite an impressive list of fantasy authors. My advice–unless you absolutely must read books in order, choose a character that appeals to you, and read their arc. Lackey’s Valdemar series and Pratchett’s Discworld especially have so many books that getting through them all is daunting–but a three or four book arc isn’t so bad. 😉

  11. I saw cut your losses on Clare (I was so mad at her for the ending on Clockwork Princess I stopped reading all of her books) but def bump up Maas. SOOOOO GOOD. I just bought The Bronze Horseman Monday so I should be reading that one soon. Great list!

Leave a Reply

