#LoveAThon – Mini-Challenge #4 – Mash-Up

book-blogger-love-a-thon-2014

Hey all! I signed up to participate in the Book Blogger Love-A-Thon, hosted by Katelyn from Tales of Books and Bands and Alexa from Alexa Loves Books.  Basically this is an entire event surrounded around giving love to book bloggers out there and helping share the love.  What better way to celebrate Valentine’s Day weekend, am I right?  I am so excited to take some time this weekend to poke around the blogosphere giving love to the bloggers that really inspire me and finding new ones to follow!  To see all the details, check out either one of their blogs or follow the hashtag #LoveAThon on Twitter.  There are chats and giveaways and lots of fun to be had.  Join us!

This mini-challenge focuses around creating a mash-up between reading and other things we really love to do.  Technically, we are supposed to mash it up with a non-bookish pursuit, but let’s be honest – so far this year I have read 45 books.  I really don’t DO much else except hang out with the family and I didn’t think the normal readers of this blog would love a top 10 children’s books or something. Of course, I have some other hobbies like cooking and music and whatnot, but nothing really rises to the level of my love for reading. So! I decided to mash-up books with books!

I love a good book that is about books.  I’ve listed some of my favorites below, but I would also really love to know if you have read any other book-based fiction.

Top 5 Books About Books

1. Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

penumbra

This book is like a cross between the National Treasure movies or the Da Vinci Code and an afternoon spent in your favorite bookstore. It explores the differences between e-books and physical books, and at the end of the day is basically just a love-letter to books themselves. Anyone who loves books will end up being charmed by this one.

2. The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

fikry

If Penumbra is a love-story about books, this one is a love-story about booksellers. Full disclosure, this one isn’t released until April 2014, and I’ll do a full review of it before that time. But suffice to say that if you’ve ever fallen in love with an independant bookstore or spent hours upon hours in a library, you cannot help but love this book. I guarantee that book bloggers will be highlighting the crap out of this one and I will be highly recommending it as it comes out.

3. The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde (and the entire Thursday Next series)

eyre affair

The Eyre Affair is the start of an excellent series by Jasper Fforde, written in his usual irreverant, fantastical style. The books are set in mid-1980s London, and there is a part of the police force that is required to jump in and out of books to deal with things that may go wrong inside the pages.  There are scads of inside jokes for readers and book lovers and it’s just a really fun take on the importance and static-nature of literature.

4. The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King (and the entire Mary Russell series)

beekeeper

This one is a little different because it’s not exactly a study on books themselves, but it is a different take on a beloved character – Sherlock Holmes. This series is set sometime after the Conan Doyle writings on Holmes have been published, but as though Holmes was a real person all along. He takes on a new apprentice, one more his equal in many respects than the Doyle version of Watson (spoiler: he’s not actually as helpful as Martin Freeman) — a young, American woman. They go about solving crimes and foiling plots together in the usual Sherlock-ian manner, and it’s just a joy to see this different side of that character.

5. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

guernsey

This is an epistolary novel set in World War II made up of letters between an author looking for an idea for her next book and members of a book club on the island of Guernsey.  It’s been awhile since I read this one, so it’s less fresh in my mind, but I remember it being a really feel-good tale with some dark underpinnings related to the WWII setting. I’ll let this quote from the Goodreads summary speak for itself: “Written with warmth and humor as a series of letters, this novel is a celebration of the written word in all its guises, and of finding connection in the most surprising ways.”

Enter The Giveaway

My Love-A-Thon partner Rachel just posted an awesome review of Cress and Marissa Meyer just came here to Dallas for a book signing, so we thought we would take the opportunity to offer you guys a signed copy of the book!  Just follow the handy dandy steps in the Rafflecopter below anytime between now and Monday.  We will contact the winner by February 19!

Just click here to enter – a Rafflecopter giveaway!!!

cress

28 thoughts on “#LoveAThon – Mini-Challenge #4 – Mash-Up

  1. This is an awesome list! I’ve heard about Mr. Penumbra’s before and wanted to read it, but I never knew what it was about, so thank you for explaining a bit. I hadn’t heard of the others, but I am definitely intrigued. I mean, a police force that goes into books? A story about Sherlock and a new sidekick? These all sound so interesting, and I love how you made it books about books. It’s Book Inception, and it’s really beautifully done!

  2. I have not read any of these but books about books is fantastic, I will have to check them all out. I am excited most about Gabrielle Zevin’s new release. I enjoyed All These Things I’ve Done so I am excited to read more from her.

  3. Holy smokes, 45 books already? You’re a machine! (I wish I could read like that!)

    It’s been a while for me too, but I have good memories of Guernsey too. It wasn’t a book I thought I’d like but then I ended up being completely sucked in. I’ve heard good things about Mr. Penumbra’s too… I need to check it out.

    Great post!

  4. OMG 45 books already this year? That’s crazy! And awesome! I’ve read 8 so far. But I’m a super slow reader, too, and I only really get the chance to read and blog when my son is sleeping. But I would love to be able to read as much as you!

    And I love your list! I haven’t read any of these books, but I’m going to have to add them to my TBR!

    • I also only read after my little one goes to sleep, but I really don’t watch tv or do anything else. There are phases where I don’t read as much, but this has certainly been a good patch! I’ve also been known to only blog a few times a week – don’t want to give up my reading time! However much you read is great – as long as you are reading!

  5. Cool idea – I love it when other books and characters are mentioned in my favorite books. I’ve read a lot of Harry Potter references in YA lately which I think is amazing!

  6. I have NEVER heard of Tales of the Otori! I need to look into this, um, yesterday! I’ll have to try to get ahold of this! And Books About Books! Yes, how have we not met!? I’m so glad we did this week, though! I think we’ll have a lot in common!

    I have heard that Mr. Penumbra is really, really good, and I need to get to it someday soon! Ahh, I picked up A.J. Fikry at ALA last month and met the author! One of my highlights! I can’t wait; I love Gabrielle! I haven’t heard of the other two. Will you pick up books like this blind? I do! I picked up a book about a girl whose last name is Bookbinder (I’m not home to check it) that looked Meg Cabot-esque. I just picked up an ARC called THE FORBIDDEN LIBRARY. My third favorite book is THE THIRTEENTH TALE by Diane Setterfield. Have you read it? It is SO GOOD. Glad you had a great time meeting Marissa! If the snow doesn’t cancel my plans AGAIN, I plan to next week as well!

    • Yes! I love the first Otori book and for some reason never got to the rest. So good – I want to reread it now talking about it.

      Fikry is amazing. I loved it. Highly recommend. And The Thirteenth Tale was very next to be on this list but it had been so long since I read it that I couldn’t remember enough to even blurb it. I will totally pick these up sight unseen!

      Are you going to BEA?

  7. I loved your mash-up! So good! I have Mr. Penumbra’s…and got it for myself for Christmas. Lol. I still need to read it!

    Some of my other favorite bloggers are: the girls at The Midnight Garden, Jen at Pop Goes the Reader, Jamie at The Perpetual Page Turner, and Risbee at Flutters n’ Flails. Oh, and Tara at The Librarian Who Doesn’t Say Shhh!

  8. Oooohhh, books about book! Love them! Mr. Penumbra is amazing, and so is The Eyre Affair and Guernsey! I haven’t read the other two but now I’ll have to! Love your mashup! =)

Leave a Reply

