My First Epic Recs!

epic-recssgif

I am so freaking excited!  This is my first time participating in Epic Recs, which is a really fun online book club idea hosted by Judith at Paper Riot and Amber from Books of Amber.  Basically they recommend books to each other every month that the other one has to read and review.  And they’ve opened this awesomeness up to others to participate in and they will even pair you up with someone who’s reading taste they think goes along with yours.  Can we just talk for a second about how awesome this is?  If you’re interested in more info and the rules and whatnot, check out Judith’s post here.

This month I was paired up with the AWESOME Kim from The Avid Reader.  Not only have I gained a really awesome book recommendation, but another really awesome bookish friend!  You should definitely check out her awesome blog if you haven’t already for some really amazing YA recommendations.

So what are we reading this month? 

poison study unwind

I checked out her shelves and IMMEDIATELY knew I had to push Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder. It fit right in with her love for strong female leads, YA slow-burn romances, and desire to start a new series. I really hope she loves it – I sure did!

Kim suggested I read Unwind by Neil Shusterman.  Here’s what she had to say about it:

“For you, I was torn in at least three different directions… but then I read your review of The Darkest Minds, and your sheer enthusiasm for that book made me decide that I’m picking Unwind, by Neal Shusterman for you. You said that part of your love for The Darkest Minds stemmed from its close examination of Ruby’s character – how her past has shaped the person she has become. You’ll have a similar appreciation for Connor, Risa and Lev. This is one of my favorite books and I think if you like dystopian even a little you can’t help but love this one. It’s definitely one that will stay with you long after you’ve read it.”

I am super excited to dig into this one!  Come back at the end of the month to see how we liked them and in the meantime, check out Kim’s Epic Recs post here!

10 thoughts on “My First Epic Recs!

    • I am so excited as well! I CANNOT wait to see what you think of Poison Study. It’s kind of nervewracking pushing a book you love so much!

      I loved Unwind and can’t wait to blog about it!

  1. You’re making me excited! I’m so thrilled that you and Kim are happy to be partnered up, because I always worry about these things. *cries* “I have gained another really awesome bookish friend.” MISSION COMPLETE. Poison Study was a fantastic choice, I LOVE THAT BOOK. And Unwind is one of my favourite books ever so (you had better love it) I hope you enjoy it!

  2. Pingback: Epic Recs Book Review (1): Unwind by Neil Shusterman | Oh, Magic Hour

  3. Pingback: March Epic Recs! | The Bookish Brunette

Leave a Reply

