Top Ten Tuesday (4): Books That Will Make You Swoon

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  This week we are discussing our Top Ten Books That Will Make You Swoon.

I have to admit that I am not always a swoony kind of girl. I tend to be more matter-of-fact and don’t lean toward romantic readings most of the time.  But I’ve come up with five novels that are so swoony, I think they should each count twice.  🙂  

Five Romantic Books to Make You Swoon

1.       Crown of Embers by Rae Carson.  

I will admit to not being the hugest fan of the first book in this series (good, but not great), but man did Carson grab me with this second book.  I freaking love the love interest in this book.  I went to a reading of hers where she said that in order to get the tone of this series right she basically watched a ton of Spanish telenovelas while she was writing and it shows. And, hey, check it out – Hector and me are totally personal friends.  Be jealous.

Crown of Embers   Hector

2.      Kushiel’s Dart (and really the whole trilogy) by Jacqueline Carey.

These are definitely NOT YA books, please be aware, and the romance and physicality in these books can be gritty and tough to read.  But man oh man, the main relationship in this novel is just perfection.

Kushiel 

3.      Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers.

I really enjoyed the first book in this series as well, but to me there was something so redemptive about the love story in this installment.

Dark Triumph 

4.      Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier.  

One of my absolute favorite books hands-down and with a pitch perfect slow-burn romance.  The end… oh the end… just absolutely wonderful.

 Daughter of the Forest

5.      Here Be Dragons by Sharon Kay Penman.

This historical fiction is set in the thirteenth century and tells the story of the marriage between Llewelyn, Prince of North Wales, and Joanna, the illegitimate daughter of King John.  It is absolutely gorgeous, and one of the best historical fiction novels I have ever read.  And the best part is that the relationship is real, so we get to at least hope it was as good as Penman writes it.  If you’ve never read anything by Sharon Kay Penman and you enjoy historical fiction AT ALL you must give Penman a try.

Here Be Dragons

 

 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (4): Books That Will Make You Swoon

  1. I should get around to Dark Triumph someday. I liked Grave Mercy (though that romance wasn’t one of my favorites, really) and am curious about some of the other girls’ stories. Bonus that this one has a good romance, too!

    • I really enjoyed Dark Triumph. It was really different from Grave Mercy to me, in that Grave Mercy was more political and this one seemed more personal. I usually am not a fan of series that all take place from a different character’s perspective, so I waited a long time to read Dark Triumph. I actually think I ended up liking it better!

  2. Carey does do quite the romances, doomed, desperate romances, where the characters struggle so much you want to give them a hug–but they’re still so wonderful. I put the Saint’s Astray series on my list–still star-crossed lovers, but a little less dark. 🙂

Leave a Reply

