15 Day Book Blogger Challenge – Day 5

I love this idea of the 15-Day Challenge that April over at Good Books and Good Wine came up with.  Today is Day 5 and we are recommending tearjerker books to each other.  I have realized in going through my Read shelf on Goodreads that a great number of my favorite books can be considered tearjerkers.  I wonder why that is?  I’m not really a crier, but for each of these books I can remember the moment when I had to put the book down and collect myself.  I think that’s one of the best things about writing – whether it’s happy or sad, the ability to create this strong, visceral, shared emotion among readers.  Man, I love books.

15-day-challenge

 

So, without further ado, my Top 5 Tearjerker Books Of the Moment (because I cannot commit to an all-time list).  I’m not going to summarize, because for many of them the tearjerker moment is a spoiler, but I’ll include my favorite quotes.

*************************************************************

1.       Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor and Park

 

“Eleanor was right. She never looked nice. She looked like art, and art wasn’t supposed to look nice; it was supposed to make you feel something.”

 

2.      The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

 book thief

 

“I wanted to tell the book thief many things, about beauty and brutality. But what could I tell her about those things that she didn’t already know? I wanted to explain that I am constantly overestimating and underestimating the human race-that rarely do I ever simply estimate it. I wanted to ask her how the same thing could be so ugly and so glorious, and its words and stories so damning and brilliant.”

 

3.       Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Code Name Verity

 

“It’s like being in love, discovering your best friend.”

 

4.       Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

bridge to terabithia

 

“She had tricked him. She had made him leave his old self behind and come into her world, and then before he was really at home in it but too late to go back, she had left him stranded there–like an astronaut wandering about on the moon.”

 

5.      The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

perks

 

“So, this is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I’m still trying to figure out how that could be.”

 

17 thoughts on “15 Day Book Blogger Challenge – Day 5

    • Bridge to Terabithia is old school. It probably wasn’t even marketed as YA because back then books were just books and not YA or adult or whatever. It’s the first book I seriously remember making me cry. I can still remember my 5th grade teacher reading it out loud and, like, sobbing.

  1. Bridge to Terabithia really got me too!

    And to answer your question on my post, The Time Traveler’s Wife is an amazing book. I’ve read it twice and each time I balled my eyes out – despite knowing what was going to happen. I highly recommend you pick up the book (and skip the movie). Ugh, my heart hurts just thinking about it.

    • I shall definitely have to check that book out! It was a case of hearing so much about it, you sort of avoided it. Now that the initial rush is over I’m going to have to get on board!

  2. Ooooh, E+P! I pre-ordered FANGIRL and bought THE ATTACHMENT right away after reading E+P–I am an insta-Rowell fan!

    I haven’t read CODE NAME VERITY and it’s come up a lot! *adds to the ever-growing TBR*

    I have two copies of PERKS and I need to read it (and before I finally watch the movie, of course). 🙂

      • I’ve heard the movie is really great, esp. since the author was part of the process. And Rowell’s book is ATTACHMENTS (I *always* screw the title up because I think of LaCour’s THE DISENCHANTMENTS, I think?). 😉

  3. I haven’t read any of these but I LOVED the quotes! And I’m adding them to my TBR. Thanks for the recommendations! And thanks for visiting my blog and commenting! 😀

Leave a Reply

