15 Day Book Blogger Challenge

I love this idea of the 15-Day Challenge that April over at Good Books and Good Wine came up with.  (Sidenote – I also love the name of her blog.  And good books.  And good wine.)   I’m not 100% sure I’ll manage to do all 15 days, but I shall certainly do my best!

15-day-challenge

So today’s challenge is to come up with 15 book related confessions.  This will be tough, but here goes!

1. I live less than 5 minutes away from my library, and I’m probably in there daily!

2. I have a rotating stock of about 10-15 books out from the library at any given time.

3. I am a super-fast reader (like 1 book per day when I have a few hours to devote to reading).  I feel like I read every word, but I do sometimes have bad recall about books I’ve read.

4. Because of this, I rarely buy real books anymore, and I almost never buy a non-used book.  This started back when I lived in New York and had barely any bookcases!

5. I do buy e-books from time to time, and usually have 1 going at any given time.  This is so I can read in bed after my husband goes to sleep!  Gotta maximize that reading time!

6. I very rarely do not finish a book.  If I start it, I feel like I have to finish it.  Sometimes, this will throw me into a reading rut, so I really need to get over this!

7. Even though I was an English major, I haven’t read very many of the British classics like Pride and Prejudice or Jane Eyre.  What’s up with that?!

8. I joined GoodReads a few years ago basically to prove a friend of mine wrong who didn’t invite me to join at first because she claimed all I read were celebrity gossip magazines.  I credit her (and my overwhelming desire to prove her wrong) for my reading resurgence as an adult.

9. I am really mad at myself when I go back to GoodReads to see whether I liked or didn’t like a particular book (see #3), and find that I didn’t even bother to write a few sentences about WHY I rated a book in a particular way.  Come ON, Emily!

10. I don’t think I’ve ever read a contemporary YA novel that wasn’t by John Green.  I need to get over myself on that one!

11. I look almost everything up on GoodReads before I read it, and if it has less than a 3.5 rating on there I generally don’t pick it up!

12. There are books that I will legitimately be heartbroken if my son doesn’t grow up to love.  I basically already have his Harry Potter birthday party planned in my mind… And he’s 3…

13. I will never start a series anywhere but with the first book, even for series that don’t necessarily have to be read in order.

14. I feel guilty counting novellas or graphic novels toward my yearly reading goals.

15. I really have to like SOMEONE in a book in order for me to like a book at all.  I cannot get behind books where just everyone is unlikeable.

Phew!  Glad those are off my chest!  How about you – got any book blogging confessions to share?  Go link up with the party at Good Books and Good Wine – see you there!

22 thoughts on “15 Day Book Blogger Challenge

  1. #6 – I have the same problem. I just feel guilty if I don’t finish it.

    #10 – I’m exactly the same. Contemporary YA isn’t one of my favorite genres, but I just love John Green’s books.

    #13 – I hate reading series out of order too. I remember I read a book once without realizing that it was the second book of a series, and I was so mad later on when I found out that it was the middle book of a trilogy.

    Ashling @ Reading, Writing, & Anything but Arithmetic

  2. I feel so guilty about counting novellas on my reading challenge too!

    Oh my goodness, I have horrible book recall as well. Especially when people ask me about my favorite books of the year, I have to actually sit and think because my brain stops functioning.

    Thanks for joining in!

    • I think I’ve decided that for my active reading challenge I’m going to have to read two novellas or graphic novels to count as one book. We’ll see how that goes for me! Thanks for getting it all together – it’s been so fun today!

  3. Hehe, love these! Okay first off–I don’t like contemp much either, don’t worry. But you SHOULD read Melina Marchetta–or must some Aussie YA contemp in general because they totally know what’s up. Jellicoe Road ranks among my favorite reads period, even though it’s so not my genre.

    I live in NY now and have no bookshelves. My pantry is full of books. I only buy books that are used, that I love to the point that I know I’ll reread, or that I get at book events to support authors. I also regularly sell/donate books I’ve finished that I don’t intend to reread to keep the piles down a bit.

    Also I’ve never read Jane Eyre either. I have TWO versions of it on audio, so I swear I’ll get to it…someday. 😛

  4. I wish I had been more diligent about reviewing at Goodreads too. When I first joined I went through my bookshelves and added everything. I didn’t bother with rating them or even getting them on the right GR shelves. I’ve got books on the TBR shelf that I’ve already read. Now it’s a major job to go back in and fix everything.

  5. Pingback: 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge | The Day Dreaming, Candy Eating, Red Headed Bookworm

Leave a Reply

